Ame’s Eggcellent Adventure

Allow me to begin by saying: God bless the generous user who took the time to create and individualized egg sprite for every Pokemon. I don’t know with what sorcery they got the job done so fast and so well– and he really did do an excellent job on the whole– but the egg hatching/finding etc feels so much better with it. Thank you so much for that, kind user,

However.

We need to talk about some of these eggs.

I think there has been a fundamental misunderstanding about how exactly eggs work in the Pokemon world. And granted we are dealing with magical creatures with super-powers who may as well be fully grown from the moment they hatch. But we have some problems.

Allow me to share some of them.

You will recognize this as a Starly egg. You will particularly recognize it because it basically has Starly’s face, except for the eyes. Now, may I just ask:

Why?

Why does the egg have a face? Like… To me, this suggests that this poor Starly is already mostly developed and has somehow been squeezed into this egg and it’s face is being pressed up against the outside so tightly that the very shape and colour of its face has been imprinted onto the shell.

help me

To me this is not only mildly concerning, but down-right terrifying. Like, does this mean that all Pokemon are just trapped, compressed into some shell until enough time finally passes that it can free the Pokemon? No, thank you…

Of course, not all Pokemon make out so poorly. Take Clamperl for instance:

(◡‿◡✿)

(ʘ‿ʘ✿) what the fuck you say about me you little bitch? hold my flower

Also Budew sucks.

✿\(。-_-。) “Kick his ass, baby. I am yo flower.

Let’s also consider this gem:

Because… I’m sorry, is that a half-hatched egg Pokemon unhatched egg with a half-hatched egg Pokemon pattern? Excuse me? What is the point of the Pokemon being half-hatched if the egg itself has an a half-hatched pattern to begin with even when not yet hatched? Aaaaaaaaaaa!

Jokes aside, the current state of eggly affairs is somewhat silly, and somewhat creepy, if not at other times tragic. Feebas-egg is very sad too:

actual very sad no good terribly tragic feebas egg

As such, eggs are getting a fresher coat of paint before Episode 14, to make them a little more egg-like and a little less, well, nightmare fuel.

As for the new episode itself, it won’t be too long now before we’re shelling that out.

Leave a comment